What To Do? What To Do?

I mean, what trouble can I possibly get into as a single professional woman who is going through life commuting to work/for work and living with family while saving to buy a condo? The answer, I hope a whole hell of a lot - in terms of adventures not trouble (get your minds out of the gutter people!!!!).

That said, I made a new year's resolution in 2010 to put myself out there, meet more people and create some new opportunities for myself. This blog is all about it - whether I talk about dating, traveling to other states/countries and the adventures with in- it will all be here. I welcome your comments, suggestions, feedback, and funny stories - bring it on!

Friday, January 8, 2010

ZUMBA - Yes, it can be done with an injured knee!

Yesterday, I decided to brave my first ZUMBA class since injuring my knee. For those of you who have not become Zumba fans yet, visit www.zumba.com and as they say - Join the party! Don't be afraid!

Last year, during a boring weekend at home, I saw an infomercial for Zumba Live and got hooked. Yes, it has everything to do with my love for dancing salsa and merengue and not to mention - a great workout. So instead of sweating on the dance floor - which is soooo unattractive and please note, I am working on not having happen the next time I get on the dance floor with the potential love of my life - I sweat in the privacy of my own home. Last summer, I even brought the DVDs to my book club anniversary weekend in South Dartmouth and my fellow "sucias" (will explain later) joined in and all of us had a blast. It's contagious, trust me! And even if you don't know how to merengue and salsa but love to dance - this is definitely a workout without seeming as if it is.

Ok, enough of my informercial on Zumba - back to last night's class. I am not going to lie, part of me was like - can I really do this with my knee? This fear was heightened after my co-workers said, "are you really going?" as I was wrapping my knee with my double ace bandage. The answer was of course, yes because I am a Zumba crazy enthusiast and am tired of the treadmill, elliptical and stationary bike options of late and even the pool is getting a backseat. So, I made the 90 minute trek to Merrimac and met up with not just my parents' friends but surprise surprise my 14 year old sister was there.

I was so happy I made it (yes, within 5 minutes of the start due to the wonderful traffic of Route 3 North) and got right into it. And....it wasn't bad as I thought - especially since it seemed as if the instructors were still learning their choreography and allowed for breaks. Plus it was a far cry from the ZUMBA Craze of Medford Square in late December which was 90 minutes of high-impact, sweat inducing, instructor killing moves - which I enjoyed back when my knee wasn't acting like its injured arthritic self.

In any event, the point is - I survived the 60 minute class and was able to walk today and believe it not, go up the stairs somewhat normally. Hurray! There is a light at the end of the recovery tunnel! Woot! Woot! Sprint Triathlon - Look out!

2 comments:

Nikki said...

You are so right - the toughest part is just getting to the gym... once you're working out or taking a great class, you feel so good!

And now I want to Zumba.

Nancy said...

Hey, like I mentioned on facebook, they need to make Zumba for the Wii. I need your DVD's, bring them over to Medford and we'll Zumba together.